Boats, ATV's, Snowmobiles

How do I register my ATV or Snowmobile?

ATVs and snowmobile licenses can be renewed in person at the town office, or can be done online by clicking here. Licenses expire on June 30th of each year.

Resident snowmobile licenses cost $55.00/year.

Non-resident licenses cost $74.00 for 3 days, $99.00 for 10 days, or $119.00 for the season.

ATV PRICE INCREASE EFFECTIVE 5/1/2022

Resident ATV Season: $70.00

Non-resident ATV Season: $115.00

Non-resident ATV 7-Day: $100.00

**Agent Fee $1.00 for renewals, $2.00 for new registrations/ rollovers and transfers.

To register a new vehicle, you will need to come in to the office, or go to Inland Fisheries and Wildlife at 353 Water Street in Augusta. Please bring a bill of sale with the vehicle's serial number, so that we can calculate sales tax (currently 5.5%).

For Renewals:

1) In Person at the Town Office

2) Last years registration

New Registrations - Dealership Sale:

1) In Person at the Town Office

2) Bring your Sales Receipt (Bill of Sale)

3) Proof of Sales Tax paid (if not paid at time of sale, will be due at time of registration. Sales Tax is 5.5% of the purchase price)

New Registrations - Private/Casual Sale:

1) In Person at the Town Office

2) Bring a Bill of Sale (required) including: VIN #, Make, Model, Year, Purchase Price

3) Sales Tax will be due at 5.5% of the purchase price


How do I register my Boat?

All motorboats used on Maine waters, with Maine as the state of principal use, must be registered with the State.

Registrations are issued for the calendar year and expire December 31st. Registration fees and excise tax vary depending on the length, model year, use and horsepower.

Registration Fee (set by Inland Fisheries & Wildlife) based on the horsepower of your boat. See link below

docs.google.com/document/d/1n-E_gY6MJoGWe3MjjRebAZ_otRlfEfph30pNMq_Cvwk/edit?usp=sharing **

**Agent Fee $1.00 for renewals, $2.00 for new registrations/ rollovers and transfers.

Boats can be registered at the town office during normal business hours. You can also click here to register your boat online. We are happy to provide this new service to you, to save you time and get you out on the water faster!

Please note: Residents with new boats will still be required to register at the Town Office. Owners of new boats need to bring in a sales receipt showing their serial number, and will be required to pay sales tax.

For more information on boating laws and facilities, visit the Maine Department of Inland Fisheries and Wildlife at 353 Water Street in Augusta or check out their website.

Things to bring for renewals:

1) In Person at the Town Office

2) Last years registration

3) Pay applicable fees

Things to bring for new registrations - Dealership Sale:

1) In Person at the Town Office

2) Bring your Sales Receipt (Bill of Sale)

3) Proof of sales tax paid (if not paid at time of sale, will be due at time of registration. Sales Tax is 5.5% of the purchase price)

4) Pay applicable fees

Things to bring for new registrations - Private/Casual Sale

1) In Person at the Town Office

2) Bring a Bill of Sale (required) including: VIN #, Make, Model, Year, Purchase Price

3) Sales Tax will be due at 5.5% of the purchase price

4) Pay applicable fees